top of page

Traveling and Celebrating Maryland - Montpelier Mansion


Another hidden gem of PG county, Montpeliar Mansion was built in 1781 and rests in Laurel, MD above the Patuxent River. The mansion itself has been transformed into a museum where you can see what furnishings would have looked like back then.

Upon entering the grounds you immediately feel taken back in time. Things seem to slow down and the air feels fresh. There is a sweet little garden by the house with an eastern shore oyster shell pathway, very classic of Maryland.

Walking the grounds is very peaceful. There is not a lot of ground to cover and I walked the property in about 30 minutes. But the whole time I felt very at peace and like time was standing still. Little touches such as an old gate, fences, and garden turn back the clock.

I am so enjoying traveling the surrounding areas of where I live while my baby is young. I feel like I am getting to know my back yard for the first time. Travel your state and celebrate life!

To see more of my Traveling and Celebrating Maryland series, click here.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page