top of page

Traveling Maryland: Beltsville Patuxent Wildlife Refuge


Another amazing way to celebrate life is by traveling. I know we don't think of vacations or traveling as events and celebrations, but they really are. Traveling is a way to celebrate the world, our freedom, other cultures, and ourselves. We can tend to be kind of selfish on vacation, and rightfully so! I always feel my true nature comes out during vacations because I have no worries and no schedule. I am free to just be.

Traveling is a huge part of who I am. I have big goals of course to travel the world or see as much of it as I can. Then when the baby came, I took it down a notch to traveling just the USA. Then when I actually experience motherhood, it went down another notch to traveling Maryland. My goal for the next few years is to take advantage of my new part time schedule at work and truly get to know this wonderful state. As Jameson grows, we will travel a little farther, but for now I am sticking to the immediate vicinity and what I am finding is quite amazing actually.

Nestled in the Agricultural Farms of Beltsville-Laurel, MD is a place called The Patuxent Wildlife Refuge. It's an amazing system of rivers, lakes, trails, and forest that you would not expect to find right in the middle of two major cities (Washington and Baltimore).

There are little decks overlooking the waters and even watch towers to look for animals located throughout the refuge.

The woods are quite lovely. You can't hear any normal city sounds, only birds chirping and squirrels running through the leaves. It is very peaceful and reminds me of adventures I used to have as a kid running through the woods.

Needless to say I found a gem about 15 minutes from my own home in Beltsville. I can't wait to find more amazing places in Maryland. Follow along with me as I travel and subscribe to see live video from places I am traveling to!


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page