top of page

Impromptu Birthday Afternoon with My Mom

We had plans all along to go to Patuxent Wild Life Refuge today, but when I woke up this morning, I wanted to celebrate a little more.

So Jameson and I spent the morning gathering supplies for a little surprise luncheon.

I took my outdoor table set and moved it in the shade right by my front garden for a little ambiance.

With the fountain running in the background, it felt like we were in our own little private garden (which my mom loves).

I set the table with a plant, card and dark chocolate Milky Way as her presents.

And I made a buffet from Chinese carry out (moms favorite).

Sometimes I struggle with feeling like I "wasted" my day... or I ran around doing chores, work, and errands, leaving me tired and unenthused. But anytime I entertain and/or celebrate something, or make someone else feel special, I feel like the world makes sense. I feel like this is what life is all about - spending quality time with friends and family, having adventures, laughing, being merry and just having fun! I am working on celebrating in some way every single day. Today I had the privilege to celebrate my mothers birthday. Now what will I celebrate tomorrow? :)


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page