top of page

Simple and Sweet Spring Tea Party


One of my favorite parties of the year is my ladies only spring tea party. I set up a fun little table in the backyard and pray for nice weather. This simple tea table, a few hats, and being outside transports us all to an old English Garden Party, at least thats what it feels like...

The place-settings consist of DIY wicker chargers, thrift store tea saucers and cups.

As guests arrive, they are greeted with a specialty cocktail and a name game.

A buffet is setup in the kitchen with a small china plates and varying pretty platters to set the tone.

The menu consists of small bites, above is deviled egg salad sandwiches. This year I featured some favorites of one of my best friends who was celebrating a birthday. See more of the menu here.

The main cocktail of the day is presented in tea pots and served at the table. This year was a Black Tea and Honey Mule.

I also set up a self-serve wine and soda bar for anyone not wanting hard liquor.

The table is topped with thrift store white sheets and a patterned flower sheet (yea I use sheets for table clothes and they work great). Then the table is set with a wicker charger, tea saucer and tea cup. See more under Decor.

We play games like "Mafia", "Mad Libs", and we talk in British accents all day. Check out more games here.

The dress code is "Sunday's Best" and we typically wear sun hats, which I gave away at the first Tea Party 4 years ago.

I use varying tea pots and vases to create little flower arrangements to adorn the table.

Then we mostly sit around, chat, catch up, gossip, drink, and be merry. It has become an annual tradition.

1st Year - 2014

2nd Year - 2015

3rd year - 2016 (I was pregnant)

4th year - 2017

If you feel like you do not see your girlfriends enough, I would suggest starting a tradition like this. It is something we can always count on and a place where we let our hair down. Cheers!


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page